Agriculture

William Henry Stillwell manuscript on the history of Gravesend, 1635-1915
Call number: 1977.309
Link to finding aid.
The beginning of this typescript on the history of Gravesend describes the area’s early rural origins.

Stoothoff Family Collection, 1642-1796
Call number: ARC.150
Link to finding aid.
This collection contains 138 manuscript documents and other papers dating from the 1600s and 1700s, relating to the Stoothoff family of Flatlands, Long Island, which is now part of Brooklyn, New York. Documents with information about farmland and farming transactions include deeds, accounts, and receipts. Many of the documents are in Dutch. An index of all documents and translations of all Dutch documents accompanies this collection.

Lefferts family papers, circa 1650s-1970s
Call number: ARC.145
Link to finding aid.
Link to digital exhibition.
This collection covers a variety of subjects including the development of Flatbush, and the following information related to agriculture. Box 1 includes an inventory of John Lefferts’ estate (1778) and an indenture from 1774 in folder 1, indentures and deeds in folder 3, the account book of Jacobus Lefferts (1757-1799) in folder 6, and more indentures and estate inventories in folder 7. Box 3 includes business records including land transactions in folder 9 and farm receipts in folder 14. Box OS3 includes a broadside advertisement for land owned by John Lefferts in Flatbush from 1887, which includes a map. There are other maps in Series 5. Series 3 also has some items that may be of interest for agricultural history, such as an almanac, household inventory, and more. Series 6 includes images of Brooklyn, New York City, and Lefferts properties. There are articles regarding old Dutch houses and families in Series 7, and a book about the history of Flatbush as well as housekeeping and recipe books in Series 8.

Middagh family papers, 1654-circa 1840
Call number: 1977.654
Link to finding aid.
The Garrett Middagh papers include a copy of an indenture for land in the township of Brookland (Brooklyn), dated August 16, 1758, for Garrett and Cornelia Middagh, and sold to Machiell Hanson. Together the Middaghs owned a 30 acre farm near the ferry on the west side of Fulton Street near Henry Street in Brooklyn (present-day DUMBO).

Nathaniel and Jonathan Huntting Papers, 1658-1849
Call number: 1974.075
Link to finding aid.
Huntting’s account books and farm records show his agricultural pursuits and transactions with the people of East Hampton, Long Island.

Bennet and Ryder families collection, 1670-2006
Call number: ARC.001
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes land indentures, maps of properties, agreements for sales of land, deeds, titles, and legal documents. Members of these families were instrumental in settling Gowanus and Gravesend. Box 4 includes one folder with information on and images of old Dutch farmhouses in Kings County.

Remsen and Schenk family papers, 1698-1837
Call number: 1985.017
Link to finding aid.
The Remsen and Schenk family papers are comprised of various land documents, including deeds, mortgages, wills, and conveyances to land primarily in Brooklyn. Most documents concern property owned by the Remsen and Schenk families. The collection relates to the following farmers: Jacob Remsen (1719-1794), Joris Remsen (1721-1794) Martin Schenk (1796-1823) and Lambert Schenk (1796-1815).

Peter Wyckoff historical notes, circa 1700-1850
Call number: 1977.582
Link to finding aid.
Topics covered include the construction of public roads in the town of Bushwick; the Dutch district subdivisions of Red Hook, Breukelen, Bedford-Stuyvesant, Gowanus, and Wallabout; and farmers’ meetings. There is also a discussion of “Brooklyn Affairs” including who owns how much land and happenings on Brooklyn farms as well as the history of the area.

Ryerson family papers and photographs, 1700 to circa 1920
Call number: ARC.095
Link to finding aid.
The Ryerson family papers contain documents related to land ownership and property transactions such as deeds, wills, invoices, receipts, and account books. The collection spans the 18th and 19th centuries with the bulk of the collection from the 19th century. John and Jacob Ryerson inherited family farmland in Wallabout. The brothers also owned farmland in Flatlands on New Lots Road near Kings Highway. Also, a Ryerson family homestead was located on what is now the Parade Grounds in Prospect Park.

Lott family papers, 1702-1954
Call number: ARC.186
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes some property maps and one share certificate for the Kings County Rural Gazette (available at the New York Historical Society and the Queensborough Library) in Box 2, folder 13. There are also Flatlands land indentures in folder 14. Folder 16 contains a flyer for Ditmas Publishing’s Old Homesteads books with an image of the Lott homestead in Flatbush and a general description of old Brooklyn homesteads. This is the same publisher as “Views of Picturesque Flatbush.” Finally, the collection also includes some documents from the 1700s concerning farmland in box 3.

Henry Lloyd ledgers, 1703-1744
Call number: 1974.117
Link to finding aid.
Six ledgers of Henry Lloyd, recording financial transactions and accounts throughout the period 1703 to 1744 for his property in what is now Suffolk County, Long Island. These include information about the prices of livestock, farm animals, and produce and some notations about agreements with farmers.

Jacques Cortelyou papers, 1706-1898
Call number: ARC.025
Link to finding aid.
The Jacques Cortelyou papers span the period 1706 to 1898 and consist chiefly of business, legal and financial records, many of which pertain to Cortelyou’s farm at Gowanus and serve to illuminate the inheritance of the Old Stone House.

Andrew J. Provost collection of Bushwick, N.Y., family papers, 1709-1859
Call number: 1977.180
Link to finding aid.
Includes deeds, indentures, and property maps concerning the present-day areas of Bushwick and Greenpoint.

Richard Lawrence Estate inventory, 1717
Call number: 1974.206
Link to finding aid.
This inventory of an estate on Long Island shows the values of every item in the estate, including livestock and other agricultural inventory.

Meserole family papers, circa 1717 to 1915
Call number: ARC.063
Link to finding aid.
The Meserole family was one of the original five families who settled in the areas that are now the Greenpoint and Williamsburg neighborhoods of Brooklyn. In 1667, Jean bought a farm in New Utrecht, now the Brooklyn neighborhood of Bay Ridge. He then bought another farm, Kyckout (“the Lookout”), that ran along the East River. Today, this farm would be located in Williamsburg between North 1st Street and Broadway. The collection includes an oversized parchment documenting a legal decision regarding a land dispute over that farm circa 1717.

Garret Van Horne ledger, 1720-34
Call number: 1974.072
Link to finding aid.
Ledger of Garret Van Horne, resident of Huntington, Long Island, New York. The ledger shows prices of livestock, crops, and so forth.

Gabriel Furman papers, 1725-1913
Call number: ARC.190
Link to finding aid.
The Furman papers principally include thirteen journals dating from circa 1816 to circa 1854. These journals provide firsthand descriptions of Brooklyn’s landscape and development. Furman lived in what is now Brooklyn Heights.
See also: Typescripts of Gabriel Furman’s Notes on Brooklyn, N.Y., 1821-23, circa 1920 typescripts of 1821-23 journal, call number ARC.229 (Link to finding aid.).

Henry Onderdonk Papers, 1729-1895
Call number: ARC.045
Link to finding aid.
The historical manuscripts, notes, and extensive correspondence in the collection contain information on agriculture and animal husbandry, with a focus on Long Island.

Pierrepont Family Papers, 1761-1918
Call number: ARC.263
Link to finding aid.
Box 1, folder 1 contains information about cows and cattle (1818-1824). Box 8, folder 1 contains an account book with details of corn and rye deliveries from Long Island farmers (1816-1822). Box 1, folder 20 has financial documents, some of which document land purchase (1845). The Pierreponts were mostly active in what is now downtown Brooklyn and Brooklyn Heights.

Francis Skillman Papers, 1769-1896
Call number: ARC.280
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes correspondence, journals, a docket book, property agreements, account books, and miscellaneous historical documents. The journals principally concern Skillman’s farming activities and his hiring of help. Skillman was born in Wallabout, Brooklyn but lived most of his life in Roslyn, Long Island in what is now Nassau County.

March, Middagh and Sands families property records, 1770-1856
Call number: 1974.038
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes property records for the downtown Brooklyn and Brooklyn Heights areas from 1770 to 1856. Deeds are in folders 6-9 and 13-14; leases are in folder 15; mortgages are in folders 16 and 18; and legal documents to do with land partition and conveyance are in folders 10, 19, and 21. There is also a map in folder 25.

John R. Couwenhoven papers, 1783-1812
Call number: 1973.167
Link to finding aid.
This collection consists primarily of a single account book that includes the prices of farm goods such as flour. Couwenhoven lived in the town of New Utrecht, currently encompassed by the neighborhoods of Bensonhurst, Borough Park, and Bay Ridge.

Nehemiah Denton Papers, 1785-1844
Call number: 1977.171
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes legal papers, deeds, receipts, account books and bills of sale, relating to Denton’s activities as a miller and merchant in Gowanus. Items of interest include a license to use the patented milling machinery designed by Oliver Evans, with a diagram of the machine on the back, as well as Denton’s property records.

Martin Schoonmaker family papers, 1793-1899
Call number: ARC.090
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes an account book that contains numerous references to the personal and business expenditures of Schoonmaker and his wife, and also renders family, farm, and rental accounts of other individuals, with information on various landowners of Gravesend, Ocean Parkway, Parkville, and Coney Island properties. The volume also contains six loose documents relating to accounts and property assessments.

Edward Tompkins and Thomas Way farm agreement and receipt, 1795-1811
Call number: 1977.365
Link to finding aid.
This collection consists of a receipt, dated 1795, and an agreement, dated 1811, between Edward Tompkins and Thomas Way, both of the town of Newtown in Queens County (present-day Elmhurst). The agreement provides Tompkins with a farm Way owns for a term of ten years. Way also agrees to provide supplies to Tompkins in return for one-half the produce from the farm while Tompkins is there.

Agricultural Society of Kings County records, 1807
Call number: 1977.396
Link to finding aid.
One document that contains the Agricultural Society of Kings County’s constitution, bylaws, list of officers, goals, dues list, and meeting minutes, dated March 1807. The Agricultural Society of Kings County was established by major landowners. The focus of the Society was to promote agriculture, husbandry, and rural affairs. This document gives an idea of what was important to farmers and landowners and who prominent landowners were at the time. It also shows the intersection of farming and politics.

Merchant account book, 1813-15
Call number: 1973.300
Link to finding aid.
This volume documents transactions for the sale of, among other things, farm goods such as foodstuffs and livestock feed, presumably from a general store or a similar merchant business in Huntington, Long Island.

Timothy Matlack farm auction broadside, 1823
Call number: 1978.190
Link to finding aid.
A broadside, dated 1823, that advertises the auction of a farm located in Flushing, Queens to be sold by Timothy Matlack. The broadside provides detailed information on the characteristics of the property.

Benjamin Rowland Account Books, 1827-1828
Call number: ARC.075
Link to finding aid.
Rowland was a merchant, and this volume details monetary transactions for goods such as sugar, tobacco, tea, and coffee, giving an idea of the prices of farm goods at the time. Rowland’s customers lived throughout the New York area, including in Queens County, Long Island, and New Jersey.

John C. Bergen papers, 1827-1894
Call number: 1974.114
Link to finding aid.
John C. Bergen (1826-1907) was a farmer on Bergen’s Island in Flatlands, Kings County, New York (now part of Brooklyn). His papers include pages from his diary (1846-1848, 1854) and an account book with daybook and other transactional entries (1827-1835, 1865-1894). The diary entries focus principally on daily farming activities, hunting (including at Barren Island), weather, and bringing goods to market in Brooklyn and other Kings County towns.

Harriet Stryker-Rodda typescript of Peter Wyckoff recollections, 1828-1958
Call number: 1973.258
Link to finding aid.
This is an indexed typescript of the recollections of Peter Wyckoff of the Brooklyn town of Bushwick, including information about farm sales, raising livestock, and arrangements between farmers.

Board of Supervisors of Kings County collection, 1835-1857
Call number: ARC.049
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes a tax ledger, in which each entry lists a landowner’s name, the value of the property, and the amount of taxes due. The listings include properties in Gowanus, Flatbush, and Bedford.

Storm and Kolyer families papers and photographs, 1835-1918
Call number: ARC.083
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes land indentures and a Kings County Supreme Court announcement for the auctioning of land in the Town of New Lots in Brooklyn (now part of East New York).

John C. Ditmas account book, 1837-1854
Call number: 1973.292
Link to finding aid.
This is an account book for the Brooklyn, New York farm of John C. Ditmas, dated 1837 to 1854. The account book lists prices paid and received for various goods and services.

William Remsen Mulford Papers, circa 1850
Call number: 1993.006
Link to finding aid.
This collection contains three documents, two of which pertain to farms.

Bartlett family papers, 1862-1931
Call number: ARC.211
Link to finding aid.
This collection includes diaries detailing everyday life in Brooklyn from 1862 to 1931.

Kate Conger Baker booklet, 1882
Call number: 1985.041
Link to finding aid.
A bound paperback of the booklet “‘Common-Sense’ in the Farm-house or, Young Mothers’ Assistant,” written by Kate Conger Baker and published in 1882. There are very few actual farm tips (the booklet mainly contains recipes and tips for household maintenance), but some at the back of the booklet are helpful, such as what makes a bushel, how many eggs a hen will lay in a lifetime, the measurement of an acre, and so forth. Baker lived in Brooklyn and Great Neck, Long Island.

Francis V. Morrell’s Recollections of Old Williamsburgh, circa 1915
Call number: 1973.084
Link to finding aid.
This manuscript provides an understanding of how areas that were once farms (here, Williamsburg) changed over time to become increasingly more urban.

H.Dickson McKenna collection, 1868-1991
Call number: ARC.060
Link to finding aid.
This collection is a source for materials on modern farmer’s markets and gentrification in twentieth-century Brooklyn. Box 1, folder 6 contains Boerum Hill materials, including a farm line map, image of threshing wheat, and narrative linking the neighborhood to the original farmers in a brochure for the 1969 house tour. There is also a 1967 “History of Boerum Hill” booklet with propagandistic and apocryphal information linking current-day residents to the original farming settlers of the area, in addition to several other materials on and references to gardens and “green” initiatives. Box 4, folder 25 contains information on landscaping and gardening and articles on indoor gardening and “group landscaping” (i.e. community gardens).

Robert Vadheim Brooklyn Heights Association collection, 1964-1980
Call number: 1988.051
Link to finding aid.
This twentieth-century collections contains additional references to community gardening and “green” initiatives in the late twentieth century in Brooklyn, including farmer’s markets and at least one “plant in.” This includes information on the Vacant Lot Gardening Program and Bedford-Stuyvesant’s Neighborhood Tree Corps, as well as descriptions of the activities of the Magnolia Tree Committee (also of Bedford-Stuyvesant) in Series 1, folder 3.

American Indians and English settlers Gravesend deed, 1665
Call number: 1977.594
Link to finding aid.
This is a photocopy of a 1909 typescript of the original deed for Gravesend.

Richard Nicolls Breuckelen patent, 1667
Call number: 1974.149
Link to finding aid.
Land patent for the town of Breuckelen, issued by New York Governor Richard Nicolls in an apparent reconfirmation of an earlier Dutch patent.

Flatlands land patents and military commission, 1667-1787
Call number: 1974.016
Link to finding aid.
Two land patents issued for the Town of Amersfort (Flatlands) in Kings County.

Brooklyn property records, 1683-1920
Call number: 1979.022
Link to finding aid.
The collection gathers together various deeds, leases, mortgages, and title abstracts for properties located in Brooklyn, N.Y. Most of the title abstracts and some of the other documents include plot maps that clearly show the location of the property in question. Neighborhoods include Willliamsburg and Bushwick.

Stevanus Van Cortlandt Red Hook land deeds, 1697, 1712
Call number: 1974.007
Link to finding aid.
This is a deed issued to Stephanus (spelled Stevanus) Van Cortlandt by William III, King of England, Scotland, and Ireland, granting Van Cortlandt a mill house, mill dam, waterways, and land tracts in an area of the Island of Nassau known as Red Hook (the present-day Brooklyn neighborhood of Red Hook), dated 1697. Also included is a deed from the heirs of Stephanus Van Cortland to Matthias Van Dyk for the property in Red Hook formerly owned by Van Cortlandt, dated 1712.

Ryck Hendrikse deed, 1704-5
Call number: 1978.112
Link to finding aid.
A deed for land in Flatbush.

Brooklyn and Long Island deeds collection, 1716-1885
Call number: 1978.006
Link to finding aid.
A collection of deeds from various properties located on Long Island. Property locations in the collection include Flushing, Newtown (now Elmhurst), Jamaica, and Brooklyn.

Hendrick H. Suydam papers, 1780-1806
Call number: 1991.009
Link to finding aid.
Includes three deeds: two in Gravesend, one in Flatbush.

Mortgage indenture between Nicholas Couwenhoven and John Van Dine, 1782
Call number: 1990.012
Link to finding aid.
An indenture for property in Flatbush.

George Irving title abstract and deed, 1798-1857
Call number: 1981.007
Link to finding aid.
One photocopy of a title abstract granting farmland in Flushing, Queens County, N.Y., commonly known as Willetts Neck, to George Irving, and one photocopy of a deed from Irving to the United States Government for the sale of the land. The title abstract includes a history of the ownership of the property stretching back to 1798. The original documents both date from 1857.

Abstracts of deeds to Brooklyn farms, circa 1800-1920
Call number: 1973.165
Link to finding aid.
One bound volume containing handwritten abstracts of titles and deeds to several Brooklyn farms from the late 18th to early 19th centuries. A partial index of some farms is also included.

Teunis Schenk land deed, 1818
Call number: 1973.218
Link to finding aid.
This deed concerns land now located on the Brooklyn and Jamaica turnpike.

Thomas Gascoyne certificate of sale, 1841-45
Call number: 1991.024
Link to finding aid.
This is of one certificate of sale to Thomas Gascoyne for property in Brooklyn on Myrtle and Tillary Streets in 1841 (now downtown Brooklyn). The document also records the selling of the property by Edward Gascoyne to Jacque Cortelyou in 1845.

Thomas Talmadge and Benjamin Stillwell land conveyance, 1845
Call number: 1991.027
Link to finding aid.
A conveyance of property between Thomas Talmadge, Mayor of the City of Brooklyn, and Benjamin Stillwell for property located in Brooklyn at Navy Street in present-day Vinegar Hill.

John M. Reid papers, 1861
Call number: 1980.017
Link to finding aid.
The John M. Reid papers include a bond and deed concerning property he owned in Brooklyn.

Elizabeth Brainerd deed, 1869
Call number: 1977.515
Link to finding aid.
Elizabeth Martense Brainerd (1794-1876) was the daughter of Flatbush farmer Adrian Martense (1768-1810), who willed his land in the town of New Utrecht to her (New Utrecht is now the neighborhoods of Bensonhurst, Borough Park, and Bay Ridge). Elizabeth Brainerd then gave it to her daughter, Lucy E. Brainerd Barron (b. 1834). This document is the quit claim deed between Elizabeth Brainerd and her daughter regarding the estate of Elizabeth’s father.

New Utrecht land deeds and executor documents, 1873-1897
Call number: 1974.244
Link to finding aid.
This collection contains two deeds for property in the town of New Utrecht in Kings County (now Bensonhurst, Borough Park, and Bay Ridge).

Ditmas lantern slide collection, circa 1851 to 1905
Call number: V1974.018
Link to finding aid.
The collection includes both black-and-white and hand colored slides depicting farms, barns, and rural areas. Most locations are unidentified.

Dutch in New York lantern slide collection, circa 1880 to 1890
Call number: V1974.025
Link to finding aid.
Images in this collection depict homes, churches, and artifacts relevant to Dutch settlement in Brooklyn and New York City during the 17th and 18th centuries. One slide shows a circa 17th century Dutch map of the region surrounding the Noort Riuier, known today as the Hudson River.

19th century Brooklyn Cabinet Card Collection, circa 1890 to 1902
Call number: V1987.021
Link to finding aid.
This collection contains images of rural scenes.

William Koch glass plate negatives, 1890-1910
Call number: V1985.004
Link to finding aid.
The images in this collection show, among other things, houses, farms and individuals outdoors, as well as rural and wooded scenes, which show hunters and farmers. Koch owned a business in Bay Ridge, Brooklyn but the specific locations of these photographs are unknown. The images are all available online here.

Collection of photographic illustrations of locations in Brooklyn, circa 1900 to 1920
Call number: V1991.070
Link to finding aid.
This Collection consists of 23 color photographic illustrations showing views of Brooklyn including houses, churches, schools, and streets, circa 1900 to 1920. Each illustration measures 4 x 6.5 inches and includes a brief description printed on the bottom recto. It is likely that the illustrations were detached from the book Brooklyn’s Garden: Views of Picturesque Flatbush by Charles A. Ditmas.

Brooklyn’s Garden: Views of Picturesque Flatbush viewbook, 1908
Call number: V1986.019
Link to finding aid.
The subject of this viewbook is the Brooklyn neighborhood of Flatbush, circa 1908.

Farmers Nooning
Call number: M1975.345.1
1843 engraving by Alfred Jones after an 1836 painting “Farmers Nooning” by William Sidney Mount.

Main Street / Formerly Kings Highway – at present 84th Street / New Utrecht 1890 / From New Utrecht Supplement of Brooklyn Eagle, Noc. ’46 / From “Tide” 1890 / Others as I remember them
Call number: M1975.681.1
Twelve panel, watercolor on cardboard folding panorama, dated 1949 by Carrie S. Cropsey.

Large poster announcing the sale of a farm and all its furnishings
Call number:  M1975.1006.1

Lithograph by George Hayward of the Remsen Farm House
Call number: M1975.1462.2
Published by “D. T. Valentine’s Manual” for 1858, with several views of this farmhouse and of the Vechte-Cortelyou farmhouse.

Farm line map of the city of Brooklyn: from official records and surveys
Call number: Atlas (8)1874

Detailed estate and old farm line atlas of the city of Brooklyn
Call number: Atlas (24)1880

Farm & woodland of Robt. B. LeffertsCall number: Bergen-[1862].Fl
Call number: Folded Maps B P-1889.Fd.F

Map of Cortelyou farm lots, Garrett Vanderveer, Flatbush
Call number: Bergen-[18–?]g.Fl

Village of Greenfield on David Johnson farm, Flatbush
Call number: Bergen-[185-?]l.Fl

Martense farm, 36th to 41st St., 9th Ave. to 13th Ave., Brooklyn
Call number: B P-[189-?].Fl.Folio

Map of the “Hunter Fly Farm” in the 9th ward of the city of Brooklyn
Call number: B P-[1850]c.Fl

Map of a farm belonging to the heirs of John Meserole, dec’d. (17th Ward, City of Brooklyn)
Call number: B P-[18--?]o.Fl

Map of the Marway farm belonging to the Manhattan Trust Co. of N.Y. City, situated in the town of Gravesend, Kings County, New York
Call number: B P-1884.Fl

Map of land of Samuel Fleet dec[ease]d situated at Bay Ridge in the town of New Utrecht and County of Kings
Call number: Bergen-1869a.Fl

Map of land of heirs of John Ditmars, decd., and others
Call number: Bergen-1877.Fl

Map of H.B. Pierrepont’s farm in Brooklyn: as surveyed 21st May 1820
Call number: Pierrepont-1856.Fl

Map of the north farm of Leffert Lefferts
Call number: B P-[1877].Fl.RA

Map of land of George Kouwenhoven, situated in the town of Flatlands in the county of Kings
Call number: Bergen-1868.Fl.RA

Map of farm at Fort Hamilton in the town of New Utrecht
Call number: B P-[1834]f.Fl

Map of land of Phebe Cowenhoven situated in the town of New Utrecht in the county of Kings
Call number: Bergen-1852a.Fl

Map of farm and other pieces of land belonging to the estate of Nicholas N. Wyckoff
Call number: B P-1847.Fl.RA

Map of a farm belonging to the heirs of Peter Calyer
Call number: B P-[1848?].Fl

Map of part of the Suydam farm belonging to William Coit, situated in the 18th Ward in the City of Brooklyn
Call number: B P-[1857].Fl

Farm belonging to the heirs of Peter Calyer, Greenpoint
Call number: B P-[1848]a.Fl c.2

Map of 814 lots known as the Green Point Farm situate[d] in the town of Bushwick, Kings Co., L.I.
Call number: B P-[1839].Fl.Folio

Map of a farm belonging to the heirs of Peter Meserole, decd., situate[d] in the town of Bushwick, Kings County
Call number: B P-[1845]a.Fl

Proposed exchange between A. Bennet and P.S. Bogert, June 28, 1881
Call number: Bergen-1881.Fl

308 lots, part of the Bergen Estate, partly in the 8th Ward of the city of Brooklyn, and partly in the town of New Utrecht, Kings County, N.Y., and adjoining the Hunt Estate
Call number: B P-[1889?].Fl.Folio

Map of the city of Brooklyn and village of Williamsburgh
Call number: B A-1846a.Fl

Map of land of heirs of Albert N. Van Brunt situated near Bay Ridge in the town of New Utrecht and county of Kings
Call number: Bergen-1853a.Fl

Map of farms owned by the Bergens at Gowanus in 1825
Call number: B P-[1825?]a.Fl 

932 lots, part of the Bergen Estate, partly in the 8th Ward of the city of Brooklyn, and partly in the town of New Utrecht, Kings County, N.Y., and adjoining the Hunt Estate
Call number: B P-[1888]a.Fl

Map of a farm belonging to the heirs of John Meserole, decd., situate[d] in the town of Bushwick, Kings County
Call number: B P-1852a.Fl.Folio

Map of 814 lots known as the Green Point Farm situate[d] in the town of Bushwick, Kings Co., L.I.
Call number: B P-[1839].Fl.Folio

Maps showing land of Garret G. Bergen and John G. Bergen
Call number: Bergen-1854a.Fl

Maps of properties in areas of Sunset Park and Williamsburg
Call number: Bergen-[1869?].Fl

The following list highlights some of the Center for Brooklyn History’s books pertaining to Jewish history. Researchers are encourage to browse the catalog for additional titles.

Of Cabbages and Kings County: Agriculture and the Formation of Modern Brooklyn
Call number: F129.B7 .L6 1999
A comprehensive historical study of the origins of agriculture in Brooklyn and its development over time as Kings County urbanized.

How the Farm Pays
Call number: S561.5.C76 1884
Detailed information from a Long Island farmer and a Brooklyn gardener on how to cultivate land, cattle, plants, and so forth.

A History of Agriculture in the State of New York
Call number: S451.N56 H4 1933
This volume focuses on the social aspects of farming practice, and “has been written for the farmer’s fireside, not the study, classroom, or office.” Its narrative spans from “the early settlements” until the nineteenth century. Written at the request of the State Agricultural Society.

Farm changes on Long Island
Call number: S561.6.L8 K53 1967
1967 Long Island Historical Society pamphlet describing the early days of farming life on Long Island.

The John and Garret Baxter journals
Call number: F129.B7 F53 1955 (6 volumes)

Extracts from the Journal of John Baxter
Call number: F129.B7.F529.1943
Typescript versions of the original Baxter journals (ARC.257), which are too fragile for regular research use. The subjects covered by the Baxter journals include farming and agriculture and market transactions.

Extracts from Gabriel Furman’s Notes and Memoranda Relating to Brooklyn
Call number: F129.B7 F87 1953
A selection of typescript entries from Volumes 2, 3, and 4 of Furman’s Notes and Memoranda (see ARC.190, abo