What are research guides?
A research guide answers the question: What material does the Center for Brooklyn History have about . . . ? For example, many researchers ask: What material do you have about the history of my house? Answer: We have a research guide that summarizes the archival collections at CBH relating to housing and building research.
Do research guides include all the resources available at CBH on a particular subject?
No. Research guides typically focus on text-based archival material. CBH has many resources readily available to researchers in the Library & Archives — such as books, photographs, and maps — but these are not detailed in each guide. The research guides will provide suggestions about these other resources, but will not specifically identify them as they do for archival material.
More research guides are coming!
Our staff is always creating and revising research guides to facilitate your research. If you would like to suggest a research guide that doesn’t already exist, please email us.
Interested in tutorials to search our databases?
We've created tutorials on how to navigate some of our most used digital resources, access them below.
- Using the Brooklyn Newsstand
- Using the Digital Collections
- Using the Digitized Directories
- Using Fire Insurance Maps Online
- Using the High School Newspapers
- Using the Land Conveyance Collection
- Using the Web Archive
- 128 Pierrepont Street
- Agriculture
- Black History
- Brooklyn Dodgers
- Brooklyn Navy Yard
- Civil Rights
- Civil War
- Coney Island and Gravesend
- Family History and Genealogy Research
- House and Building Research
- Indigenous Peoples of Long Island and New York
- Jewish History
- LGBTQ+ History
- Library Collections
- Neighborhood Change and Gentrification
- Oral History Collections
- Remote Research
- Waterfront: Business and Manufacturing
- Waterfront: Ferries